top of page

وزارة الرعاية الذاتية للمرأة السوداء:
تحرير العبد المعذب

 

بدأت هذا العمل كامرأة سوداء في أواخر الأربعينيات من عمري. أم وحيدة لمدة 25 عاما. العنف المنزلي  الضحية / الناجي. ناجية من اعتداء جنسي. لقد أنقذ الوعي والالتزام بأهمية الرعاية الذاتية على مدى السنوات الست أو السبع الماضية حياتي.  

هناك أيديولوجية معينة يتم تدريسها والترويج لها عند ذكر الرعاية الذاتية. في حين أن بعض  الرعاية المدللة التي يتم اعتبارها تلقائيًا تقريبًا صالحة ، لقد فهمت القليل منها  الأشياء التي جعلت مفهوم الرعاية الذاتية أكثر وضوحًا بالنسبة لي:  

1) "الذات" مصطلح نسبي. 

2) لدي الحق في تعريف "الذات" بالنسبة لي. 

3) لن تعمل أي منهجية واحدة مع الجميع. 

4) يجب أن يكون لكل "نفس" إمكانية الوصول إلى الرعاية بالطرق الأكثر فعالية بالنسبة لهم.  

مع وضع كل من هذه العوامل في الاعتبار ، تاريخ شخصي يدعم هذا الفهم لكلا الحاجتين  والتعريف الفردي للذات ، وعدسة العدالة الاجتماعية التي تجعلني أفكر في حقائق  عدم المساواة من حيث صلتها بإمكانية الوصول والتوافر والقدرة ، أجد أنه من المهم التفكير فيما هو أبعد من الرحلات الباهظة الثمن ، ورحلات المنتجع الصحي ، ومجموعات الدعم النموذجية ، والتمارين الرياضية ، وإفساح المجال لقضاء "وقت بمفردك".

 

في الطرق التي أشرك بها النساء السود ، أعي الحقائق العديدة التي نحملها وعلامات الهوية التي نحملها والتي ليست ملكنا. أنا على دراية بالطرق التي تم تعريفنا بها و  حقيقة أن الكثيرين منا كانوا اجتماعيين جدًا للاعتقاد بأن هذه الهويات هي هويتنا لدرجة أننا لا نتحدىها ولكن بدلاً من ذلك نعيش فيها ، غالبًا على حسابنا.  

مجتمعات النساء السود المرتبطة برالي / دورهام / تشابل هيل ، نورث كارولاينا ، مدرسة يونيون اللاهوتية ، مدرسة ديوك ديفينتي ، كلية بينيت ، نادي كيوانيس في بروفيدنس مونتيغو باي (جامايكا ، جزر الهند الغربية) ومركز الموارد للمرأة في الوزارة في الجنوب  (RCWMS)  بدأت رحلة الرعاية الذاتية هذه. لماذا لا تمنح امرأة سوداء في حياتك فرصة المشاركة في التجمعات الشهرية التي تستضيفها RCWMS؟  هذه المساحات تحتفظ بها النساء السود من أجل النساء السود بشكل غير معتاد ، وتركز على أصوات النساء السود ، وهي مصممة بناءً على الاحتياجات المحددة من قبل المجتمع الذي يشارك بنشاط في الخدمة.  

هذا العمل ، بالنسبة لي ، هو عمل حب الذات ، والحب الجماعي ، والأخلاق النسوية ، وهو متعدد الأجيال ،  متعدد الثقافات وليست محدودة ، ولكنها بدلاً من ذلك لانهائية مثل الجمال في السواد الذي نشاركه. أنا  نعتقد أنه من الممكن التخلص من السلوكيات التي علمتنا أن نكون الخادم المتألم في كل شيء  أشياء. من خلال البحث العلمي والشخصي ، والتفاعل المجتمعي والتفكير لدي  ابتكر طرقًا ملموسة تجاه هذا الإلغاء ونحو تأويل الاستصلاح  من إنسانية النساء السود ، ألوهيتنا وعافيتنا. إنها رغبتي في تفريغ عمل هذه الحياة  معك! 

28947034_10155176945021697_5174899814863

كيمبرلي مكراي

اتصل بنا لحجز ورشة عمل!

شكرا للتقديم!

الأحداث القادمة

"حضرت هذه الورشة دون أن أعرف ما أتوقعه ؛ لكنني كنت أعرف في أعماق قلبي أنه كان شيئًا يجب أن أفعله ... كيمبرلي أخت وأم وامرأة وصديقة رائعة وأتأكد من أننا كنساء نعرف ما هو مطلوب للشفاء من ماضينا ولأن نكون سعداء بحياتنا الحالية .. إذا سنحت لك فرصة حضور ورشة عمل معها - يرجى القيام بذلك لأنك ستستمتع بها تمامًا وتتعلم الكثير عن نفسك !! "

كيشا كيرتس ، مشارك

كيمبرلي ... تتأكد من أننا كنساء نعرف ما هو المطلوب للشفاء من آلام ماضينا ...

bottom of page

logo_clear-removebg.png

The Ministry of Black Women's Self-Care:
Setting Free the Suffering Servant

 

I began this work as a Black Woman in my late 40’s. Single mom for 25 years. Domestic Violence  Victim/Survivor. Sexual Assault survivor. An awareness and commitment to the importance of self-care over the past 6 or 7 years has, literally, saved my life. 

There is a particular ideology that is taught and touted when self-care is mentioned. While some of  the pampered care that is almost automatically considered is valid, I’ve come to understand a few  things that have made the concept of self-care more palpable to me: 

1) ‘Self’ is a relative term. 

2) I have the right to define what ‘self’ is to me.  

3) No one methodology is going to work for everyone. 

4) Every ‘self’ should have access to care in the ways that are most effective for them. 

With each of these factors in mind, a personal history that supports this understanding of both need  and an individual definition of self, and a social justice lens that causes me to consider the realities of  inequities as it pertains to access, availability and ability, I find it important to think beyond expensive getaways, spa trips, typical support groups, exercise and making space to have ‘alone time’.

 

In the ways that I engage Black Women, I am mindful of the many truths that we carry and the identity markers we bear that are not our own. I am mindful of the ways we have been defined and  the fact that many of us have been so socialized to believe these identities to be our own that we do not challenge them but instead live into them, often to our detriment. 

Communities of Black women connected to Raleigh/Durham/Chapel Hill, NC, Union Theological Seminary, Duke Divinity School, Bennett College, Kiwanis Club of Providence Montego Bay (Jamaica, West Indies) and Resource Center for Women in Ministry in the South (RCWMS) have begun this self-care journey. Why not gift a Black woman in your life with the opportunity to participate in the monthly gatherings, hosted by RCWMS?  These spaces are unapologetically held by Black women for Black women, centering Black women's voices and are designed based on the needs specified by the community actively engaging the service.  

This work, for me, is a work of self-love, communal love, Womanist Ethicism, it is multi-generational,  multicultural and is not finite, but is instead as infinite as the beauty in the Blackness that we share. I  believe it is possible to unlearn the behaviours that have taught us to be the suffering servant in all  things. Through scholarly and interpersonal research, community interaction and reflection I have  come up with tangible methods towards this unlearning and towards a hermeneutic of reclamation  of Black Women’s humanity, our divinity and our wellness. It is my desire to unpack this life’s work  with you! 

28947034_10155176945021697_5174899814863

Kimberly McCrae

Contact Us to book a workshop!

Thanks for submitting!

Upcoming Events

"I attended this workshop not knowing what to expect; but I knew deep in my heart that it was something I needed to do... Kimberly is an amazing sister, mother, woman, friend and makes sure we as women know what is needed to heal from our past hurts and to be happy with our current life.. if you ever have a chance to attend a workshop with her- please do because you will thoroughly enjoy it and learn a lot about yourself!!"

logo_clear-removebg.png

Keisha Curtis, participant

Kimberly...makes sure we as women know what is needed to heal from our past hurts...